The Brogrammer's RPG Blog.

Hello All

Well hello everybody!  This is TheBrogrammer.
Thought it was about time to start one of these blog things, so here I am.  Some of you may have heard of that free-for all contest that the RPG Maker site is hosting.  I thought, “What better way to start an RPG Maker blog than to post your RPG Maker story?” So here is my entry:

I’ve always loved and respected those old 16 bit console RPGs like Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy III.  They have this timeless feel to them.  They made me realize that video games aren’t just toys.  Video games can make you laugh, rage, and maybe even cry.  While I played these titles, I thought, “I want to make people to feel these emotions.”  So I started looking into game development software.  On my search, I discovered the RPG Maker series.  It was almost everything I hoped it would be.

So what does RPG Maker mean to me?  To me, RPG Maker is not just a tool that allows me to entertain;  RPG Maker is FUN!  RPG Maker combines art, music, and writing into one activity.  Awesome!  I can express my creativity to the max, and tell the world my message!

Here’s my first attempt at a game with RPG Maker.

I started using RPG Maker XP about two years back.  RPG Maker XP will always have a soft spot in my heart.  I loved the graphics, the music, and most of all, I loved the editor.  It was incredibly easy to make a game.  I made a 1 hour RPG called “A Light in The Shadows” during my free trial.  It was awful, but I loved it anyway.  Let’s take a look, shall we?

Groooaaan... So baren...

Yep.  I wasn’t the best mapper back then.

Wake up indeed.

Wake up indeed.
Not only was the game poorly mapped, it was poorly tested.  There were glitches galore!  Yet I still love this game.  It was the very first game I made, and it will always be special to me.  (Don’t expect me to release it anywhere though!)

So how far have I come since A Light in The Shadows?  Well, I now own RPG Maker VXACE as well as XP, and I’m an active member of the community.  I’ve released two more games.  They were both decent, but just that: decent.  I’m learning from my mistakes, and I’m getting better at making games every day.

Compare these screens to those last ones:

A screen from my first publicly availiable game.

A scene from "IF." Chapter 3.

Well, that’s my story.

Are you ready to Make Your Own Game?

Are you ready?

-The Brogrammer

One response

  1. Pingback: Free-for-All Blog Post Winners | The Official RPG Maker Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.